Prose Poetry Fail

Standard

Now I am learning how to write Prose Poetry, I really enjoy it but seems I still don’t have the complete knack for it. Here is a ‘Prose Poem’ I wrote below:

The wrong day

Pumpkins, sweets, ghosts and ghouls. The door opened to a knock and within a blink she is past me and gone- her silver fur merging between the witches and skeletons that wait at the door with faces of makeup and buckets for treats. Hearing a bang, I look up to the sky and see the flash and shimmer of coloured blasts in the sky. Another bang and then another… purple, green, pink and blue. Bang! Bang! Bang! Do people know that they have the wrong day? Running down the street in a black corpse dress, calling out her name ‘Bluey, Bluey where are you?’ tripping down lanes, kneeling to peep in bushes calling out ‘Bluey.’ And I imagine her hiding and trembling nearby.

Turns out that it isn’t a Prose Poem at all because it wasn’t focused on a singular idea! Do not be put off if you write something similar – you now have the framework for something else. I will now be turning this into Flash Fiction!

Leave a Reply

